top of page

Sharing Dreams



When I started this journey, I was focused on myself.


Achieving my dream.


Seeing my vision come to life.


Telling the story my way.


Yet my favorite moments so far have been witnessing others work on this project with me. Being challenged and supported through unexpected collaboration.


It started with Sean Kisch, a wonderful friend of mine from Slovakia. I told him I wanted to create a musical with 5 songs that worked as their own pieces and in harmony with one another. In short, a composer's nightmare. He asked if we could write 6.

Sean Kisch, Composer


I was apprehensive about bringing Sean into this musical. I had never heard any of his compositions before and I was scared I'd dislike the pieces he'd write. I didn't have the talent to write the show myself, but I had a vision of what it could be and I was scared of missing it. When he sent me the first two songs, I let them sit in my inbox for two hours. I was clinging to my ideal musical, terrified of bringing the concept into the world and not liking it.


While valid, my fear was completely unnecessary. Sean understood the heart of the musical and his music reflected it. I recorded myself listening to them for the first time, and I saw it. I saw my musical start to form.


I later read the lyrics and audibly gasped at the duet between Eve and Mary


Eve: "And oh to once again walk in his footsteps. Oh to once again hear him speak"

Mary: "And oh to witness his first little footsteps. Oh to watch as he learns to speak"


It was the first time I cried in regard to the musical. I felt it. I felt how powerful these stories are and I knew that I had to continue fighting to make their voices heard. I knew I had to create this show. Despite covid, despite challenges at Wheaton, this was something I needed to do. I knew it was bigger than just me.


Sean said something the first day we talked about the project. He said, "I've always wanted to write a musical and now I can".


Dreamers inspire dreamers.


It's the power of sharing your dreams.


You not only open yourself to the power of your own imagination but invite others to enter in and include their own dreams and ambitions.


That's what this project is. Blessed Is She isn't a come, sit, listen, leave type of project. It's an invitation to hear these stories and add your own voice to the mix. An invitation to sing along with these women as your story mimics parts of theirs. It's the chance to take what you have and offer it to the rest of us.


This project has been a gift to me, I hope it's a gift to you as well.

bottom of page