top of page

Ruth Bible Study

Based on the book of Ruth

"Ruth" by Emma Ware


To hold the story of another

Is to stay a little while longer

To believe He needs you there

To sacrifice plans and comfort

To do these things with love and respect

Is to be included in a plan you never did expect


Photographer Unknown - brought by Sarah Spacek

This photograph reminds me of all the people I saw in Israel who lived as nomads. It struck me while reading the book of Ruth that a lot of time passes from the time Ruth and Naomi leave Moab and the time they arrive in Bethlehem. How many times did they fall? How many times did Ruth help Naomi up? What was their sleeping situation like? Did they ever feel safe on the journey? Did Ruth ever look back over her shoulder and wonder if she made the right choice? If so, how often? I wonder a lot about this period of complete dependence on God in a situation where a home in Bethlehem isn't promised.



Photograph brought Kodie Warnell

I got the image of Ruth clinging to Naomi like a child clinging to their stuffed animal or blanket—their object of comfort and stability that gave them courage and bravery. So here’s me at 22 years old with the stuffed animal that has been by my side since the day I was born!



"The Mystery of the Foreigner" by Brooke Sweatman

A whole book of the Bible is dedicated to Ruth, and yet there are so many things we don't know about her - so many gaps in her story about motivations, fears, hopes, and feelings that we cannot know this side of eternity. These are questions I wish I could ask Ruth herself, and the questions that for now I can only wonder about.



Photographs (brought by Grace Pointner)

"Where you go I will go"

(photos of Grace with her mom)



"The LORD's Provision" by Jackson Heydt

One of the things that struck me most in the book of Ruth is God's provision. The story begins with Naomi lamenting about all of the things that have been taken away and saying, "Why call me Naomi when the LORD has testified against me and the Almighty has brought calamity upon me? (1:21)" Yet while Naomi feels that God has abandoned her, God acts through Ruth to still provide.



"You May Find Rest" by Ruthie Wu

I love noticing verses that I didn't realize before, like Naomi's blessing for her daughters-in-law to remarry, which is connected to rest, something I really need right now.


Additionally, Ruth's status as an outsider (a Moabitess) in Israel is an important connection point for me. I wonder if she looked different or dressed or spoke differently. Her otherness makes her exchange with Boaz (2:10-12) so beautiful, as God is known for repaying and rewarding people, regardless of background, for taking refuge under God's wings. I'm glad that it says "taking refuge" and not "making perfect grades" or some other measure of "success." Instead, success in God looks like trusting God for shelter, protection, and providence. The blessing of God extends to whole communities as Naomi turns to praise (2:19-20) after previously declaring the Lord's hand against her in Moab (such that she renamed herself, Mara).


Another detail I'm grateful for is when Boaz tells Ruth not to fear (3:11) when she follows Naomi's instructions to go onto the gleaning floor and uncover his feet (it's interesting that Ruth initiates the gleaning from fields whereas Naomi tells Ruth to seek out Boaz -- I wonder if Ruth felt awkward following cultural norms she might have or not have known). I'm glad for the reminder that heroes like Ruth and Boaz are described in the Bible (in Hebrew) are not immune to fear, but God is there to remind people that they don't have to be afraid.


Lastly, in the elders' blessing to Boaz (4:11), they mention Rachel, Leah, and Tamar, women who I would not have considered "blessed" prior to these reflections. I also recognize that while I was frustrated at how most women are mentioned only in regard to childbearing in the Bible when a woman conceives (such as Ruth in 4:13), it also mentions the man (whereas many narratives of culture pin it only on the woman) and God as the agent who opens wombs and gives conception (which is important for Mary too). So many new things to learn from my namesake, and more, I'm sure, to come.

bottom of page