top of page

Rahab Bible Study

Based on Joshua 2 & 6.


Rahab - Brooke Sweatman

Rahab's declaration in verse 11 that "the Lord your God is God in heaven above and on the earth below" can be seen as a fulfillment of God's promises. In Genesis 12, God makes a covenant with Abraham that the nation he would father would not just be blessed, but would also BE a blessing to all peoples. Israel was meant to be an ambassador of God's faithfulness, righteousness, and power to all other nations. While Israel sometimes gets a bad reputation for not doing what they're supposed to (*cough cough* disobedience leading to 40 years in the wilderness), Rahab's knowledge of who God is showing that Yahweh accomplished his purpose through the nation of Israel despite their shortcomings - the other nations know who God is! And Rahab is confident enough in that belief to swap sides.



Rahab - Sammie Burton

Upon reading Joshua chapters 2 and 6, I was struck by how frequently Rahab is associated with her profession of prostitution. Almost every time she is introduced, she is called "Rahab the prostitute." I began to wonder, what if the text did not say that she was a prostitute? How then might we see her? Perhaps, we would see her courage and boldness or her confident faith in the God of Israel. I began to reflect on how I have often attributed Rahab's significance in Scripture in relationship to her sin. I thought Rahab was important because of how she acted in spite of her sinful ways. I don't think this is all wrong, yet I think my previous perception of Rahab neglected her worth. In the picture I drew, I wrote "Rahab the Prostitute" crossed out with green ink directly below her face. Below this phrase, I wrote "Rahab". In making this, I was reminded that Jesus did not look at people according to their brokenness, he looked at people. He saw them as their raw, worthy selves. Jesus' interactions with others were not contingent on their sin in any way, He loved everyone in his path, broken and all. May I learn to see Rahab and others in light of their "theirness" not their brokenness.



Rahab - Kodie Warnell

It’s funny how what people call us may only be a slight slight part of who we are. Sometimes the bigger things are left out. In Rahab’s case, here is what they called her and what I think was a more fitting name.



Rahab - Ruthie Wu



Thirst - Mary Oliver (brought by Jessie Wright)


Another morning and I wake with thirst

for the goodness I do not have. I walk

out to the pond and all the way God has

given us such beautiful lessons. Oh Lord,

I was never a quick scholar but sulked

and hunched over my books past the hour

and the bell; grant me, in your mercy,

a little more time. Love for the earth

and love for you are having such a long

conversation in my heart. Who knows what

will finally happen or where I will be sent,

yet already I have given a great many things

away, expecting to be told to pack nothing,

except the prayers which, with this thirst,

I am slowly learning.



Lioness - photographer unknown (brought by Julia Chavez)

In reading Rahab’s story, I noticed her strength, sacrifice, and resilience, as demonstrated in her dedication to her family and to the people of God. Because of her faithfulness and bravery, God blessed her and preserved her household. In contradiction to the patriarchal structure of her day, Rahab’s obedience led to the blessing of her family, when traditionally only men had this power to protect their household. In a way, she is like a lioness, fiercely protecting those she loves even when that requires the sacrifice of her safety and her body. She thinks clearly, behaves with purpose and strength when she protects the spies through lying and lowering them out of the city with a rope. In the end, we see God further this matriarchal idea when she is included in Matthew’s genealogy of Jesus, not as a prostitute, but as a mother who brought forth the family of God.


Rahab - Katherine Hoppe

Although many others in Jericho had heard of the mighty deeds of the God of Israel, Rahab was the only one who decided to abandon all that she had known, even betray her city, and turn to the God of Israel. She was the only one who truly believed that He was the one true God, that she did not have power before him, and that she would find mercy if she turned to Him.

bottom of page